Biltmore Estate and Downton Abbey

I blame my sister Karen and her friend Donna Booshay (blogs at Quiet Life www.booshay.blogspot.com) for getting me hooked on watching the British TV drama on PBS, Downton Abbey.  I caught up watching episodes on Netflix, hulu and pbs.org.  They say the TV drama is addictive and I agree.

Image

Watching the show, I feel like I’ve been in the estate featured on the show.  Because over the holidays, we visited Asheville, NC and toured the Biltmore Estate.  Before I knew anything about Downton Abbey, I learned about how the Vanderbilt family and their servants lived in the Biltmore Estate back in the early 1900’s.   The Biltmore took six years to build and was America’s largest home to George Vanderbilt.  He married Edith and had one daughter Cornelia that was raised in the home.

Image

Photo Courtesy of the Biltmore Estate, Asheville, North Carolina

We visited the Biltmore on a spur of the moment “what do you want to do today” weekend in December, and it was Tom’s suggestion (bravo, well done!)  We poked around downtown Asheville on Saturday (another story for another day, great city,) stayed overnight then visited the Biltmore on Sunday with a 10 a.m. reservation.

Image

It’s quite a production.  We purchased tickets for the four of us at the hotel and popped for the extra $10 audio tour.  Driving into the estate includes miles of roads, and you end up parking and taking a bus to the actual estate.  The grounds sprawl over 8,000 acres and over the years they have expanded the property to include a wine village, shopping center, garden shops, antique car museum and more.  Bill Cecil is the great grandson of George and is president of the family run business.   We had exactly 4 hours to see what we needed to see before we had to hit the road to be back in Knoxville (2 hour gorgeous mountain drive) for must see football games.  Just enough time to complete the home tour and do a little wine tasting and exploring.  I must go back.

Image

The estate is magnificent.  And I appreciate it so much more now that I’ve watched Downton Abbey.  May I say Biltmore is much grander than Downton Abbey; it must have something to do with the size of the Vanderbilt fortune.  From the Biltmore website (www.biltmore.com):

“The celebrated architect Richard Morris Hunt modeled the house on three châteaux built in 16th-century France. It would feature 4 acres of floor space, 250 rooms, 34 bedrooms, 43 bathrooms, and 65 fireplaces. The basement alone would house a swimming pool, gymnasium and changing rooms, bowling alley, servants’ quarters, kitchens, and more.”

Image

The headset tour had you wear a little audio device around your neck and the accompanying brochure had corresponding numbers to enter for each room, to hear the history of the space and stories of the family’s life at the Biltmore.  What a treat!  It was a busy December weekend, so we followed a snaking line of tourists from room to room, but that was fine.  I had my chance in each room to step up to the cordon line and punch in the code to listen to stories from the early 1900’s, like in the master bedrooms, his and hers.

Image

Image

I observed the gorgeous home décor in each space, the colors, the textures, and yes, it was over the top but fabulous.

Image

They would have loved having me as a guest I imagined, meeting in the gathering spaces for a before dinner drink, then retiring back to the library for an after dinner drink.  Oh, I could only imagine.

Image

Tom and the boys were sports and seemed to enjoy the tour, though they moved a little quicker than me.  I really enjoyed seeing the servant quarters, which were also quite lovely, but very simple.

biltmore-inside

We wrapped up our visit by checking out the Antler Hill Village and Winery for some wine tasting.  We’re not big winos (like so many readers of this blog) but are wise enough not to pass up a free drink.

Image

While the boys explored the large wine and food shop with samples of cheese, ciders and snacks, Tom and I waited in a short line to begin wine tasting.  Very nice, efficiently laid out form with various wines you could sample and make notes of.  We enjoyed a few varieties and then were on our way.  Last stop was a beautiful fishing hole on the property, of course we had to stop and take a look.

Image

IMG_1189

I’m looking forward to returning for another visit to the Biltmore Estate.  I imagine they are doing a bang up business with the popularity of Downton Abbey here in the states.  I expect Biltmore’s marketing department is working on tie-in promotions and exclusive rights to the Biltmore – Downton connection.  I can see busloads (and plane loads) of Downton fans traveling to Asheville for their very own royal experience.  My enterprising mind is running wild now.  Certainly all of my Knoxville guests will be encouraged to consider a Biltmore visit and a trip to Asheville.  You know I’ll join you!

p.s. after writing this, I found this link on Biltmore website with connection to Downton Abbey…off to read it now….http://www.biltmore.com/media/news-release.asp?id=127

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Biltmore Estate and Downton Abbey

  1. Sandi Kemerling says:

    OMG!! I love Downton Abbey! Mark actually introduced it to me! We watched season one on Netflix, and couldn’t wait to continue. I remembered I had an iTunes gift card for $20, so what better choice than to buy season 2! In the beginning Mark told me the history you just explained in your blog. He also mentioned we will have to visit the estate as it is close to your home. Now we will certainly have to take part. Please don’t discuss the specifics as we’re only season 2 episode 4. Mark gets so upset with their “snotty” manner”, kinda funny! We still hope to visit in the spring!
    Go Niners!!!!

  2. stewcarol says:

    Lucky girl Sandy, glad you are watching it with Mark. Tom couldn’t understand what they were saying and ditched quickly. It is entertaining. Yes, hoping you will be here in the spring and we can get snotty together at the Biltmore. Go Niners, you guys have good sports teams out there.

  3. Northwoods Sue says:

    I want to go!!!!!! Please take me…… Randy hasn’t caught on to the show, I’ve tried to watch it a few times around him, but no go. Let’s catch up soon and talk DA!! Thanks for sharing.

  4. stewcarol says:

    Come join us. But I may make you sip some wine, or at least munch on the crackers. You will enjoy it, let’s do it soon. Thanks for your enthusiasm Northwoods Sue.

  5. I am so happy to come and see your visit to Biltmore…and your visit to Chicago. (and wheaton…my home town) I am delighted you are watching Downton Abbey and enjoying it so much. Even my son is watching it. So surprised about that :o)
    Thank you for commenting on my blog and linking over here to yours. I like getting to know you better Carol.

    • stewcarol says:

      Thank YOU Donna, any friend of Karen’s is a friend of mine! I noticed the Wheaton connection as well. It’s a small world which is a very good thing, love your blog inspiration. That dip yum!! And glad you’ve been to the Biltmore, so you too have the experience in the back of your mind as you watch the show. I’ve been to Hearst Castle as well, but it’s not as grand and I don’t recall seeing the servant quarters, which is a big part of the Downton and Biltmore experience.

  6. OK…I am also a fan of Downton Abbey, and am taking a break from watching all 3 seasons in less than 1 week! This blog inspired me to find time to watch all 3 seasons as quickly as possible. and may I say, yet something else we have in common…our need for culture, history, with just the proper amount of smut and humor peppered in…I, like you my dear, am hooked. Thinking about starting on season 1 again…or better I should make a trip to Biltmore and see my dear, dear friend.
    Miss you and love revisitng your blogs for my fix of Carol!
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

