Gardens and Good & Plenty

What a great day.  I’m preparing for my three sisters to come visit me in Knoxville TOMORROW through Sunday.  Woo-hoo!   I ran some errands this morning and picked up some treats for the weekend, and couldn’t resist a bag of fresh popcorn and a bag of fresh Good & Plenty from Mast General Store downtown.  I had to sample some and yes, that was my lunch.

Spring has sprung here, and I should be doing housecleaning but I can’t stay inside.  It’s more fun to get outdoors and sweep a patio, spray paint an end table or throw some more mulch in a corner.  Yes, the laundry room is calling me, but I’m wiping down the porch furniture and watering the flowers.

This past month, I had garden inspiration from a couple of trips.  I went and watched Brian play for the University of Minnesota in Dallas at the national club volleyball tournament (awesome experience) and went on a field trip to Williamsburg, Virginia with Kevin’s 8th grade class.  Gorgeous gardens!

Pictures from the Dallas Farmers market, beautiful nurseries:

Image

Image

Image

Pictures from Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello and Governor’s Palace in Williamsburg:

IMG_0602 IMG_0618 IMG_0625 IMG_0547 IMG_0555

Image

I’ve been gardening away down south.  There was a dead corner in the back yard that needed some TLC.  Some old bushes and dead trees were removed, creating a blank slate.

Image

A trip to the local nursery and Home Depot, along with some grasses from elsewhere in the yard that I divided and transplanted, resulted in an updated backyard corner.

Image

It’s all a work in progress and not quite on the same standard of Monticello, but it’s coming along smashingly.  And, oh, so much more fun than laundry!

Hence, my lack of blogging.  The weather here is something else.  I’m sorry if I’m a broken record on that topic and hope none of you had damage from the heavy midwest rains.  For my friends in Northern Wisconsin and Minnesota, hang in there.  As my sister Sue says, she is still optimistic about getting the snowed under outdoor Christmas decor down by 4th of July.

Here, the dogwoods and redbuds are in bloom, and the azaleas are just firing up.  Japenese maple pretty purple leaves are here.  Fifty shades of green are everywhere with lots of white, pink, purple and yellow sprinkled all around.

Image

I may have mentioned earlier, about 50 years ago, a travel reporter declared Knoxville the ugliest city in the country.  City leaders went about a beautification project, with emphasis on planting blooming trees and public gardens.

IMG_0533

Then came the annual April Dogwood Festival, where designated streets and neighborhoods are marked with dashed pink spray painted lines running down the middle of the street as you follow along the Dogwood Trail and enjoy lovely blooms and gardens.

OK, time to put away the snacks and head up to the laundry room.  Hope to be back next week with updates of some fun.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gardens and Good & Plenty

  1. Sandi Kemerling says:

    I sure love reading your blog. You are so creative with your thoughts and words! Love the photos! Your transformed garden is beautiful! Nice work! Hoping you post photos of the the unattended laundry room while you were enjoying the great outdoors 🙂
    Enjoy your sisters visit!
    Love ya

  2. Aunt "B" says:

    Carol, Love your blog as usual and Granny Great would be so proud of your gardening skills. I can just see the smile on her face for what you did for your little corner of the world. Enjoy the visit with Sue, Kathy and Karen. Wish I could be a fly on the wall to see you all having a great time. Sorry you and Tim weren’t able to connect last weekend.

  3. Those flower pictures make me long for spring…we’ve had a lousy one here in Chicago! Don’t be so hard on yourself, your garden looks JUST like those in Dallas!!
    Hope you and your sisters had a great time…Looking forward to seeing those pics!
    love,
    Terry

  4. Carin says:

    Hi, I just found my way over from Edie’s blog. Love all the garden pictures. the corner you spruced up looks great. I need to do something about our garden too, but true to England, it’s raining all the time, which is not really that inspiring. Great to have found you!

    • stewcarol says:

      Thanks for your note Carin, all the way from England! Bet you’ve got some great soil with all that rain. I think you inspired me to post more garden pictures and post again soon.

Leave a Reply

